Area players honored for study habits



Three area football players have been honored as elite for their work in the classroom and 10 more earned first-team all-state honors by the Texas High School Coaches Association Academic All-State team.

Ben Sharp of Bowie, Janson Graham of Graham and Ryder Cude of Munday received the highest honor by the THSCA which is ELITE.

Wichita Falls High School, Graham and Munday each had two first-team honorees. Will DeVilbiss and Will Patrick represented the Coyotes. Class A champion Munday had Ryder Dillar and Shannon Reeves on the first team and Class 3A semifinalist Graham had Cameron Calame and Josh Stelzer on the first team.

Rounding out the area's first-team selections are Jace Langen of Iowa Park; Reid Spiller of Jacksboro; Marcus Moisant of Rider; and Adam Hoff of Windthorst.

Many other area football players made the second team and honorable mention.



Ben Sharp, Bowie

Janson Graham, Graham

Ryder Cude, Munday


Cameron Calame, Graham

Josh Stelzer, Graham

Jace Langen, Iowa Park

Reid Spiller, Jacksboro

Ryder Dillard, Munday

Shannon Reeves, Munday

Will DeVilbiss, WFHS

Will Patrick, WFHS

Marcus Moisant, Rider

Adam Hoff, Windthorst


Zack Byrd, Archer City

Ty Franklin, Bowie

Eli Shaw, Bowie

Tanner Tomlin, Bowie

Ben Gleason, Graham

Ben Hays, Graham

Jerrod Mahan, Graham

Tye Lawson, Holliday

Camryn Schlegel, Holliday

Sam Shirley, Holliday

Jared Lamberson, Jacksboro

Logan Groves, Munday

Ryan Redder, Munday

Tate Fenoglio, Nocona

Shelby Womack, Nocona

Thomas Ramsey, Petrolia

Kevin Castro, WFHS

Pryor Johnson, WFHS

Deshaun Young, WFHS

Adam Jackson, Hirschi

Reece Wooten, Rider

Brendon Schreiber, Windthorst


Austin Brock, Bowie

Marcus Vaughan, Bowie

Cole Halvorson, Graham

Travis Hillmer, Graham

Hunter Walls, Graham

Chris Calhoun, Holliday

Jacob Cole, Holliday

Tanner Gordy, Holliday

Josh Robinett, Holliday

B.J. Araujo, Munday

Garrett Weaver, Munday

Zach Graham, Nocona

Simeon Trevino, Petrolia

Jerod Creacy, WFHS

Lance Dixon, WFHS

Collin Joyce, Hirschi

J.T. Barrett, Rider

Ruan Lopez, Rider

Brandon Williams, Rider

Derek Mankins, Windthorst

© 2013 Times Record News. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 1

Melkor writes:

Surprised the TRN didn't list the "honorable mention" list first!

Want to participate in the conversation? Become a subscriber today. Subscribers can read and comment on any story, anytime. Non-subscribers will only be able to view comments on select stories.

1TRN Videos

Player of the Week

See the results without voting | Poll archive

Season leaders


1. Ben Davis, Graham (2,690Yds, 28TDs)
2. Chase London, Rider (2,389Yds, 28TDs)
3. Taylor Thomas, Olney (2,303Yds, 11TDs)
4. Zach Barton, Seymour (2,036Yds, 31TDs)


1. D. J. Thomas, Jacksboro (1,488Yds, 20TDs)
2. Cedric Battle, Hirschi (1,323Yds, 19TDs)
3. Michael Bishop, Electra (1,281Yds, 17TDs)
4. Marquis Askew, Burkburnett (1,254Yds, 8TDs)


1. Davon Allison, Rider (1,366Yds, 14TDs)
2. Bryce Reeves, Graham (1,043Yds, 11TDs)
3. Mike Clark, Olney (910Yds, 5TDs)
4. Dalton Jackson, City View (675Yds, 7TDs)
5. Cody Adams, Seymour (670Yds, 8TDs)

>> See complete stats


1. Zack Ballard, Olney (201)
2. Brady Brunson, Burkburnett (152)
3. Corey Luster, Vernon (135)
4. Gage Robinson, Bowie (132)
5. Elijah Hull, Hirschi (125)
6. Marcus Leija, Quanah (122)
7. Tristan Sherman, Holliday (113)
8. Garrett Johnson, Jacksboro (112)
9. Austin Martinez, Quanah (112)


1. Justin Silva, City View (10)
2. Treston Shepherd, Seymour (7)
3. Daytona Politakis, Nocona (7)
4. Kevin Stallcup, Bowie (7)
5. Cody Fletcher, Henrietta (7)
6. Garrett Johnson, Jacksboro (9)
7. Baltazar Castro, Seymour (6)
8. Logan Carter, Henrietta (6)
9. Tristan Willard, Nocona (6)


1. David Stretcher, Jacksboro (6)
2. Brad Slade, Bowie (5)
3. Jay Ward, Bowie (5)
4. Hagen Hughes, Graham (5)
5. Mikey Feeze, Graham (4)

>> See complete stats


1. Mitchell Parsley, Crowell (1,708Yds, 30TDs)
2. Cody McElroy, Notre Dame (1,677Yds, 33TDs)
3. Bryson Oliver, Throckmorton (1,286Yds, 27TDs)
4. Tyler Mays, Newcastle (922Yds, 18TDs)


1. Cody McElroy, Notre Dame (1,579Yds, 35TDs)
2. Trinity Haggard, Throckmorton (1,326Yds, 21TDs)
3. Aaron Baker, W. Christian (1,320Yds, 20TDs)
4. Chris Lewis, Knox City (1,214Yds, 19TDs)


1. William Hogan, Crowell (422Yds, 13TDs)
2. Nathan Wilson, Newcastle (419Yds, 8TDs)
3. Hayden Farquhar, Throckmorton (413Yds, 10TDs)
4. Michael Fantini, Notre Dame (410Yds, 4TDs)
5. Nathan Riley, Throckmorton (369Yds, 8TDs)

>> See complete stats

Team Pages

Game Night